Tuesday, June 11, 2013

so long, farewell, auf wiedersehen, goodbye ...

christiane is so on top of blogging - i was way too lazy to update last night.  :(  as previously stated, yesterday we went to the emp museum, and this happened:



we also saw some sweet sci-fi and horror movie and tv props, like these!


lightsaber!


vader's bald cap!


jack torrance's axe!

we also basked in some glorious chihuly glass!


persian ceiling!


wonderland!


truffala trees!


ikebana boat!


chandelier!


crooked cactus glass!


seal pups!

afterwards, we had an awesome meal at the top of the space needle. (thanks, mom!) unfortunately, superior blogger that she is, christiane took all the pictures there so ... refer to her entries.

then, of course, it was time to head back to michael's über hip and stylish apartment building ...



... where this awaited us:



BUT! i am an excellent packer/cleaner/all-around awesome sister, this is what we left behind:



not bad, right?!

a special shoutout to michael, who allowed me to create such squalor in his living quarters and coped with me being such a waste of apace for a month. love you!!

anyway, i didn't get to take any pictures or blog today because i accidentally drove eight hours. tomorrow that christiane jerk is driving and i'm stealing her data because T-MOBILE IS THE WORST.

ttylz!!

Sunday, July 22, 2007

no way, josé

last bit of time in madrid was lovely. i ended up going back to reina sofía on thursday, and discovered some new exhibits that i hadn't seen before. i also took this really sweet picture of the outdoor glass elevator set-up:

i also spent some time hanging out in the garden across from the palacio real, which is something i've wanted to do since ... last summer. it was so arty and in tune with the city, or whatever.

my last night in madrid i was going to go on a pub crawl, which was supposed to meet at the oso de madrid in sol. while i was awkwardly leaning on said monument, i asked the girl standing next to me if she was going on the crawl as well. she wasn't. she was waiting for her friend, who's mexican but went to school in san diego and who has lived in madrid for two years. the girl i met was named anouk and is dutch but speaks perfect english because, you know, she's dutch. they invited me to hang out with them, and we ended up going to this cute irish pub near sol, then going to meet alexa's (the one living in madrid) friend for his birthday celebration at this really cool underground-like bar. he's apparently a dj at some hot madrid club, so we ultimately went there (pachá, i believe) and got in for free, because we're so cool, and skipped the line. so hot. anouk and i ended up staying at the club, which had a giant techno floor, until about 4.30, when we decided it was more or less late enough to leave. after much confusion, we finally decided that i should just crash at her apartment because the metro wasn't running and cabs were our best bet. that meant a lovely walk of shame for me in the morning, though.

the next day she invited me to the pool outside her apartment, though, so i spent the day tanning and swimming and discussing american politics and culture with her and her dad, who ultimately made me dinner!

last night was the overnight train, which wasn't bad because it left at 11.00, so i pretty much went right to sleep. it got into lisbon obscenely early this morning, though - like 8.00. that's early, ok?

in portugal, people who smoke are not welcome in metro stations:

when we got to the hostel around 9.00, we were told that our rooms wouldn't be ready until about noon, so i layed down on these pillows and bean bags in the main lounge area. i fell asleep just as breakfast was starting, so pretty much everyone staying here got to see me sleeping, including our roommate. awk. our room is really cute and attic-y, and there's a low skylight that i was able to take a picture out of, but couldn't actually see anything from. this is what i'm pretty sure our view looks like, though:


after showerz, we went to lunch at this cute little café at the top of a hill (who knew lisbon was so hilly?) overlooking the city. afterwards, we walked to the old castelo and got to walk around all the turrets to see everything.

this is what lisbon looks like with me in front of it:

and this is what turrets look like with me between them:

and, in the rare event that you want to see lisbon without me attached, this is how beautiful it is:

after the castle we went to get fresh-squeezed orange juice at this little terrace bar also overlooking the city. there was a huge white tarp/sail overtop to block out some sun, and it was breezy and lovely. see?

so now i need to find something to do with my life. considering going out tonight, but it's a sunday so i'm not sure that anything will be going on. possibly a walking tour tomorrow,
or just walking about of my own accord, then hopefully staying up all night tomorrow night to ensure sleeping on the plane. we shall see!

adeus!!1!

Thursday, July 19, 2007

bajo mis pies siento crecer madrid

ahh, madrid. where i feel free to douche around all day because i'll be back in the fall. i spend my days lounging in cafés and navigating areas of the city so that next semester i can be like, "don't worry guys, i got this." i'm just as in love with the city as i was before. i haven't really taken any pictures, but i do have this sweet one from our legitimate balcony:
yesterday i took the metro down to my host family's house, just to scope it out. i took a picture and then felt really creepy and left. but isn't it cute?

after that i walked to retiro to have a drink on a square man-made lake, then sautéed* on up to puerta del sol. deciding that there were way too many people there, i came back near the hostel to have lunch. after some lounging, charlotte and i went to this place for drinks and then ... back to my lunch restaurant for dinner, lolz.

my plan for today was to get up early and go to segovia, so i went to bed pretty early, but i had a lot of trouble sleeping and opted to ditch the bus trip for today. instead, i went and had a picnic lunch in retiro (it's really close to the hostel, ok?) and then walked down to museo reina sofía. i'm developing a love for surrealism, which may or may not be a function of actually being in spain. (i had a similar experience with expressionism in paris.) i watched un chien andalus again, which i find endlessly entertaining, and saw a lot of sweet dalí and miró works. by far the best part of the museum, though, was guernica. though i've seen it in books plenty of times, the full size adds so much to the experience. there were also extensive exhibits of his studies leading up to the final product, photographs of the process, and a separate photography series on the spanish civil war.

so now i'm back here for a bit before i go do ... something with my life. or not.

oh, and this is for you, ducky fam, in case any of you still read this:


*yes, i know.

Tuesday, July 17, 2007

"but i counted me!"

i was kind enough to separate this entry full of actual words and meaning from that one about non-flying pigeons, but i think the series is worth looking at, if only to appreciate my plight.

ok so europes. when we last saw our hero, she was reenacting favorite scenes from the sound of music. when i was done humiliating myself, we left for vienna. not gonna lie, the city was pretty unimpressive. i mean it was clean and pretty and all, but quite boring. i think a large part of this was due to our really bad tour guide when we went on the bike tour. one really awesome thing about vienna, though, was that our room had a private balcony. now, some might call it a fire escape, but with a chair to jump up on and some maneuvering over the slanted five-foot window, it was definitely a balcony to watch the world go by. check out the sweet view:

our first night i went to the hostel bar with our roommate rachel and then we hung out on the balcony for several hours and took what we thought were really arty pictures, but those are in her posession so you cannot see them.

at one point we went to the top of st stephans dom, where i got to take my token picture of me and the city. see?!?!


it's an artistic series.

oh one cool thing on our tour: apparently there is one statue of a man riding on a horse that is rearing backwards in the entire world that is perfectly balanced without any sort of additional support to the horse besides his legs. this is it:


across the plaza from this statue is another almost identical one, but the artist (along with the rest of the world) couldn't figure out how in the hell he made the first one balance, and spent the rest of his life trying to recreate it. he eventually went crazy and killed himself. also, i don't know his name.

then we got to take another overnight train to venice! significantly less comfortable than our previous train, this one was a six-bed converted to a four-bed. how did they do that?, you may wonder. well! the girl and her mother who got the bottom bunks got exceptional room as the middle bunks were folded up, and then charlotte and i were snugly tucked into the top bunks. see?!

they were nice in the morning, though, and helped us to convert the beds to seats. oh and they also spoke perfect english, lolz europe.

upon exiting the 50-degree train that housed roughly 10% of japan's teen population, we entered venice, ninety degrees and humid. mmmm. i really remember liking venice a lot the last time i was there, thinking that the canals were so cute and such. i was clearly remembering a different city, because this is pretty much what i saw this time around:


BILLIONS OF PEOPLE.

our hostel was pretty sweet, though, because it was out of the main part of town, in this little piazza that's "popular among students." we predominately hung out around there, sitting in cafés and wasting our lives away. the next morning we left for florence, where we met up with my dad and brother, yayyyy.

my first order of business was to make michael take this ridiculous picture with me in front of the campanile:


WE ARE SO COOL.

we went to the accademia, where we had to wait in exactly zero lines, because i'm amazing and we got tickets beforehand. i'd seen the david before, but that didn't make it any less awesome to see again. it's so massive, and perfect. i want to be an artist.

afterwards, we hung around florence for a while, then drove up to the top of a hill to look at the city, because that's how i roll. this is florence from the top of a hill:

that night we went to lucca, an adorable medieval city about an hour outside of rome, and there was an elton john concert happening? that was weird. we had dinner there (which sucked, btw, how does that happen, italy?), and then headed home to pass out. the next day we were off to rome, and on the way stopped in san gimignano and siena, both similar cities to lucca, small and stone and medieval and tuscan and hilly. this is what michael and i would look like if there were a picture taken from san gimignano, and then two different pictures of us were taken at different times in our lives and disproportionately pasted on top of the landscape:

... or are we really there? YOU WILL NEVER KNOW.

the next day in rome was hardcore sightseeing. when we stopped for a break amidst the ruins, i reenacted the pietà:

that's heavenly light pouring over me. we went to the colisseum, forum, trajan's column, pantheon, somehow back to trajan's column, the trevi fountain, back to the colisseum to get on the metro, and then took the train to the vatican. charlotte and dad couldn't go in because they were not modestly dressed, but michael and i did.

the sun was shining through the front windows onto the altar in the most celestial of ways. this was it:

... apparently i uploaded the one with him in it. but you get the idea.

later i bought him this white panama hat that he had been LUSTING after. this is him trying to be suave:


and this is me rocking the hat WAY better. or something.


that night we went up to the rooftop bar in the guys' hotel and watched the sun set for a few hours and had some wine - it was so pretty. i like being high up, and buildings in rome are short.

the next morning we left early for naples because i needed some mozzarella, and went to ostia antica on the way. ostia was a port city that received most goods for rome before they continued up the tiber, but in the 1500s a massive flood re-routed the tiber and ostia became obsolete. tragic, right? it's pretty well-preserved, though, and we got to walk through a bunch of the buildings. here is a mosaic on the floor where the baths were:

not much happened in naples ... i went to the beach, ate a lot of mozzarella, drank a lot of wine. it was nice.

the day of the baby's baptism in naples, we went to this really awesome restaurant overlooking the ocean and mount vesuvius. there were roughly 4732894 courses to the meal (i only got through two), and there was a great sea breeze and mmmmm italies. there was also a giant steering wheel. this is me driving the restaurant, with panama hat:

for those of you that don't understand why i spent four days in the condo and didn't update or really internet at all, i show you this:


the view from the balcony.

and, in conclusion, i would just like to say:

HI MOM THIS IS FOR YOU

I REALLY WANTED THIS TO WORK OUT.















LOOK HOW HARD I TRIED.